Skip to content

The Revealing and Concealing God


‘Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for him.’

Isaiah 64:4

These words from Isaiah still resonate with me as I marvel about a God who acts on behalf of the one who waits for him!   In a culture of nations practicing idol worship augmenting a false understanding of who God was, here, the Lord declares in a loud voice through Isaiah the prophet, ‘Look, this is who I am! I am your God who acts on your behalf!’  What kind of God acts on behalf of his people?  The one true God does, and he has proved his love in action through sending Jesus Christ into the world to save sinners. I think Paul might be alluding to this passage when he writes in 1 Cor. 2:9-10,

“However, as it is written: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him” – but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit.”

In my own life, I have been learning how to wait on the Lord.  I have been acquiring the secrets of staying close and pressing in to know not just the plans of the Lord for my life, but the Lord himself. I am thankful that God graciously gives direction, and reveals from piece to part to whole by his Spirit.

In remembrance of this aspect of my spiritual journey, I penned the song, ‘Daybreak’ which was framed through the experience of both waiting on God and learning to hear from him.  Specifically, I was on break from a missionary project in Eastern Europe.  I had a chance to travel and go to Italy and spend some time on the Italian Riviera. One morning I got up early and hiked up a trail along a cliff that led me to a secluded place where I could pray. Juxtaposed to me were the crashing Mediterranean Sea waves and opposing overcast skies.

As I spent time in prayer calling out to God, I marveled at how the sun broke through the clouds.  As it did, I enjoyed the presence of the Holy Spirit as he ministered to me and strengthened me despite the difficulties I was personally facing from my missionary endeavors. In that moment I learned the Lord does not just speak to give us direction and solve problems in our lives, but that he speaks love to us like a Father as he calls us by name and reminds us how he has acted on our behalf through his son.

Daybreak

Verse 1

Look outside and see the ocean breathing.

As it throws its foamy waves upon the shore.

It looks as if the day is getting started.

It seems as if the sun is marching forth.

 Pre-chorus

And everything is singin’ out your name.

Beauty like a symphony of praise.

Chorus

And I’ll wait for the sun to rise,

To settle into cloudless skies, yes I’ll wait, yes I’ll wait.

And I’ll wait just to hear you speak,

The words my soul has come to seek, yes I’ll wait, yes I’ll wait.

 Verse 2

Morning light shines brightly over water,

Reflections dance on rock and reef and into sand.

Standing at the dawning of a new day

Ready for your light to lead me in your way.

Pre-chorus 2

         And now I come to hear you speak my name.

Alone with you before the break of day.

Chorus 2

And I’ll wait for the sun to rise,

To settle into cloudless skies, yes I’ll wait, yes I’ll wait.

And I’ll wait to hear you say my name

Cos’ I don’t wanna end the day the same, yes I’ll wait.

Outro

 Yes I will wait, yes I will wait, yes I will wait…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

